Skip to content

Remote repositories don't really delete commits even after reset and force push #1

Description

@aapo-kossi

An addition to the instructions could mention that if secrets are committed on accident to a remote repository, this cannot be completely undone with git reset, since the commits can still be accessed with their hash. See discussion in https://github.com/orgs/community/discussions/38607
To summarise: the file will not be accessible from the git tree on the remote, but is still found with its commit ID (for example the short version of the commit hash). This is still very difficult to access by chance from 16^8 possible short hashes, but it's still good to be aware that the commit is not really removed.

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    No labels
    No labels

    Type

    No type

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions